Military Brides

Are we right to do this??

He has been in the Army for 5 years and we have been together for two of them. Engaged after 1 year. I am super scared to get married though, one i am 19 and two we are only getting married to be with each other since we have never been in the same state. He is at Camp Casey, South Korea now and in 4 months I am suppose to marry him. Out of being together for 2 years we have only seen each other in person for 6 months added up. I still live with my parents and goto school. I don;t even know what I want to do for a living yet. I am still going to school to figure that out and I don't even pay bills yet. 

Re: Are we right to do this??

• LuluP82LuluP82 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Hon, I think you have your answer.

If you're not ready to be married, forever, then you're not ready. You're very young. You live at home. You've never paid bills. You're not an adult (even though I applaud you for your evident maturity, since you seem to be taking marriage seriously).

What do your parents think about your wedding plans?

Marriage is hard work. Marriage to a military man is harder work. Being married is no guarantee you'll get to spend much more time together, anyway-- he could get deployed, he could get sent on an unacompanied abroad tour, etc.

Too many young military couples get married for all the wrong reasons. You sound like a very level headed and smart girl.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • miabethjmiabethj member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
     EDIT(I had major typos):  My story was much like yours, except we've been together in person a lot longer, but I would be the same age. I asked here a few days ago (look at "Marriage after highscool") and everyone told me to not do it. In my head, I had it all planned out too, I wanted it.  You don't.

Everyone is going to tell you not to do it, including me. If you don't even think you are ready- you defiantly aren't.