Wedding Etiquette Forum

Sleeping on flights

I have a 7.5 hour flight to Europe in a month (Well, 4 hours to Chicago, then 7.5 more to Europe). I'll arrive at 8 a.m., so I really want to sleep on the way there to do my best to get adjusted. I realize that may be wishful thinking... is there a safe pill I can take to make me sleep? I've never done it before so I have no idea. Should I take something like Tylenol PM?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Sleeping on flights

• If it's a long flight, I usually take a decongestant that will make me drowsy because I always get stuff on a plane...and it helps de-stuff. I wouldn't take an actual sleeping pill myself.
    planning

• I've heard that seratonin (over the counter, vitamin supplement) is great for jetlag and you can take it in addition to something like benadryl, nyquil, or tylenol/advil pm to help you mellow out a bit more or take them together. I've never tried it myself, but it's not too expensive and you can pick it up at most pharmacies or at a vitamin shoppe, etc. have fun :)
    imageWedding Countdown Ticker
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_sleeping-flights?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:9Discussion:c6995455-0d22-4987-adf8-80bdcbe7ab12Post:68596401-2412-4109-8cfa-43cc8aa3a3a6">Re: Sleeping on flights</a>:
    [QUOTE]I've heard that<strong> seratonin</strong> (over the counter, vitamin supplement) is great for jetlag and you can take it in addition to something like benadryl, nyquil, or tylenol/advil pm to help you mellow out a bit more or take them together. I've never tried it myself, but it's not too expensive and you can pick it up at most pharmacies or at a vitamin shoppe, etc. have fun :)
    Posted by chaseleyh[/QUOTE]

I think you mean melatonin.  I've taken it before to help me sleep without much luck, but I took the lowest dose because I heard mixed reviews about side effects.