Chit Chat
Options

Career vs. children ~ Update

beharringtonbeharrington member
First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
edited March 2014 in Chit Chat
Need some advice:

I'm supposed to be going to Africa for work in May.  I went to get the required vaccines today and I can't get them if I'm pregnant (we'll know by the end of the week).  If I'm not pregnant and I get them, I have to wait 3 or so months before we begin trying again.

I work in the oil industry (so, mostly male) so I don't think many of my coworkers have had this problem.  I don't want to stop trying but I don't want to have this conversation with my boss either.  I don't know how that would even go.  And, if I'm pregnant, that's a whole different conversation because I wouldn't be able to get the vaccines till I finished breastfeeding.

Any suggestions for how to have the conversation with my boss?  Maybe irrelevant but just in case it affects your responses, my boss is a woman but she chose career over kids (as far as I know).  Also, I've only worked here 7 months but she does know that I want kids.

UPDATE: Well, we're not pregnant yet.  So, after a lot of discussion with H, I'm going to go ahead and get the vaccines next Tuesday.  Mostly because, if I wait and the boss was understanding, it would be at least a year before I could get the vaccine (you can't until you stop breastfeeding).  We're looking at it as 3 more months to save up money and finish unpacking our new-ish house.  Thank you all for the words of wisdom last week.
Anniversary

Re: Career vs. children ~ Update

• Options
    Well, first of all, I wouldn't bring it up until the end of the week, when you know for sure, because that will affect how you approach your boss.

If you ARE pregnant, then you say, 'Boss-lady, I need to have a conversation with you. I'm pregnant, which means that I am unable to get the necessary vaccines for the trip to Africa.'

Then she what she says.