Wedding Woes
Options

Opportunity is rarely going to land on your head. Explore your options.

Dear Prudence,

I’m an experienced morning radio producer in a midsize market, with almost eight years behind the mic. The station is successful but has never changed format or any major full-time on-air position in 17 years. The pay is lousy. I’m struggling to survive, yet I plug away at a job I hate with the hope that eventually I’ll earn a spot with an actual air shift and hopefully better pay. This seems less and less likely. Everyone tells me to quit and earn better money doing anything else, but I enjoy the “fun” aspect of the job, and I like being creative. However, creativity in this business pays less than $25,000 a year. It’s simply too hard to get through the day, and all I think about is how little I earn and how hopeless I feel. Am I a failure in broadcasting if I remove myself from the profession? I’d effectively deem myself worthless if I move on, yet another “has-been” or “never-was” in a long line of burnt-out radio producers. I need hope for my future.

—Failing Out

Re: Opportunity is rarely going to land on your head. Explore your options.

• Options
    If you can’t get through your day, you need to make a change. Start looking at other opportunities, see what else is out there and what the pay is. Maybe consider a side gig if you love what you do, but not what you make. 
  • Options
    Mrsconn is correct. I used to intern at a radio station many moons ago and they always said There’s no money in radio. 
    LW can start a podcast for creative outlet and more air time. Who knows, maybe they would make more money too.
  • Options

I'm making a big assumption, which might be incorrect.

It sounds like the LW only works p/t in the morning.  Which, quite frankly, puts $25K into perspective for me.  I think that sounds like pretty decent pay for a p/t job.  Though, I get it, overall that's a tough wage to live on.