Wedding Woes

No one ever, EVER corrected your mistakes in 3 years?

Dear Prudence,

I have been with my current job for three years. In August, upper management shuffled teams around, and I was given a new supervisor. We clashed immediately because she felt that my work wasn’t up to snuff. I was frustrated because my former supervisor had never complained about my work, and I was feeling micromanaged. I recently had my employee review, and my former supervisor said that my work had always been full of errors—that I had never done it correctly. Apparently, he would quietly correct my mistakes and not tell me. I have been doing my job incorrectly for the past three years.

I am incredibly embarrassed by this and worry his inaction has ruined my career at this company, as I’m caught in an endless cycle of catch-up. I’m putting in extra hours on evenings and weekends to get my work done as thoroughly and as error-free as possible. I feel like I can’t advance, and I’m dangerously close to burnout. Should I confront him about this? I feel that his inaction has derailed my career at this company. I don’t want to rock the boat, but I also don’t want this to happen to anyone else

—Torpedoed by Management

Re: No one ever, EVER corrected your mistakes in 3 years?

• You know, I want to say this is really odd, but we have an entire group of employees here who's work is absolute bullshit.  I complain frequently because (TL; DR version) I often end up with their bullshit work files.  The attorneys also complain.  And nothing is done about it because of weak and uncaring management and crap attitudes on behalf of those employees.