Not Engaged Yet

Okkkk...I guess I'll post.

So I've been creeping on The Knot for A LONG time. I've been to 18 weddings in my adult life (only two of those as a BM, both times as MOH in fact), which many people my age seem to think is nothing short of crazy, and every one has fueled my addiction to weddings more. I love everything about weddings and am semi-planning my own.* I signed up for the site as Press (since I am a journalist) to further satisfy my cravings and was planning to do so incognito until I found the NEY board. "Well, heck," I thought to myself, "now I guess I can, like, talk to people." So, hi.

*"Semi-planning my own": I've been in a long-distance relationship with a terrific guy from my old church in St. Louis for about seven months. (St. Louis is our hometown; I'm now working and attending grad school 120 miles west of St. Louis -- NOT Kansas City, as my profile wants you to believe.) We're pretty serious -- my family adores him, we're doing Thanksgiving with each other's families (aside: two dinners = I should have packed looser pants), and we're planning to move together wherever I can land a job after I finish grad school this May (the news industry doesn't exactly offer the best job market these days). More to the point of this board, we've talked quite a bit about marriage, our hopes for spending a life together, and our ideas for celebrating the beginning of that life together. We won't be getting engaged anytime soon (I told him we need to at least be living in the same city for a while first, and neither of us is satisfied with our finances right now), but it's fun to dream. I have a sort of computerized scrapbook in OneNote with my/our ideas. :)