Chit Chat
Options

Overwhelmed by the planning

Anyone else out there overwhelmed by all the planning?  I like many of you am working a full time job plus am having to plan my wedding on my own.  I am pretty stressed out because I am also trying to fit in a 30 minute run in each day (minimum).   Any tips to not run myself into the ground?  My occupation already is stressful enough- I am a transactional attorney.    

Re: Overwhelmed by the planning

• Options
    If you can't handle the planning, then either hire some help, get your FI involved, or scale back the production. Seriously. There is no reason to go grey or have herat palpitations over planning a party.

Also, take everything someone tells you that you have to have or have to do with a grain of salt. Think about if they are trying to sell you something that you don't need. Programs, favors, OOT bags, bathroom baskets, etc are not needed if you don't have time. The essential elements, IMO, and the bride and groom, an officiant, a marriage license, and photographer (non-pro is fine). If you want to invite guests, then add in invitations, guest seating, and food and drink for the reception.

Try to keep it simple in your head, and only keep in mind the important parts: you are marrying your FI, and you want to be a good hostess to any guests you may invite.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Lilypie Premature Baby tickers
  • Options
    Sit down and make a list of things that you WANT in your wedding.  Then make a list of things that you actually NEED in your wedding.

Now go back to your WANT list and you'll see an awful lot of things that are just not particularly important.