Chit Chat
Options

Rushing the holidays?

I don't know about everyone else, but in South Jersey it feel like Christmas time already. The mall, grocery store, party stores, everywhere has all of their Christmas stuff out already. What happened to Thanksgiving? Did we disown it or something? Cry
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Rushing the holidays?

• Options
    I work in retail, so I know your pain. My store gets Christmas cards in stock in August. AUGUST!!!

I used to love Christmas, but I can't stand it anymore! I love Thanksgiving, with the turkey and the stuffing and potatoes and pies. Now I only look forward to Christmas for about a week beforehand. 

I just feel like I've been desensitized to the joy because it's always around. At work, we have Christmas cards from August to March (when we finally manage to get rid of them all at clearance prices).
    Malcolm AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • Options
    edited November 2010
    Yup, it is just disgusting and sad. I ran to Wal-Mart after work today, and there was a guy putting up a Christmas tree. I just rolled my eyes. They have had the center grocery aisle filled with baking goodies for a few weeks now.

I think it has been this way for the past 10 or 15 years or so, but has gotten worse in recent years due to the economy, etc. I can remember my parents telling me stories about when I was little the stores would close on Christmas and Thanksgiving Eve and if you didn't have what you needed, you were SOS. It is not like that anymore. The only day WM closes out of the entire year is Christmas, very sad. It all comes down to money.
  • Options
    That was one of the things that drove me up the wall at Disney.  At least they celebrate Halloween now, but I'm pretty sure the Christmas decorations will be up by Friday.

I think I'd enjoy Christmas more if I didn't have to put up with it for two entire months.
    This is a neglected planning bio.