Chit Chat

out-of-state wedding & picking a planner

My fiance and I live in Baltimore, but think I am going to have my wedding in my hometown in Texas, a small city of 115,000.  I am a busy professional, and definitely feel like I would benefit from full service planning by a wedding planner, which I am willing to pay for.  But a wedding planner based in which city?  I would really like to be able to meet with the planner regularly to ensure that tasks are being accomplished and design is being carried out according to vision - which would favor a Baltimore-based wedding planner.  However, a local Texas-based vendor would be familiar with vendors, etc, but I lose out on that personal contact - which I want to have.  So, who do I pick?  I do not foresee myself going back to Texas more than twice prior to the wedding, because I just don't have the time to make those trips.

Has anyone dealt with this before?  Words of wisdom?  
Is it possible to use two different wedding planners? - one to focus on local vendors, and another to focus on design elements?

All input is appreciated.

Re: out-of-state wedding & picking a planner

•    <-----------------------------   pick a place first
  • Texa wedding planner.  A Baltimore planner makes no sense - she's based in Baltimore to deal with Baltimore vendors.  Do you want to pay for her flights to Texas?  I'm assuming no... 

We had a Bermuda wedding and I had a Bermuda planner (from the hotel we married at).
  • You absolutely want a Texas planner.  I suppose you could ALSO hire a Baltimore planner to deal with the Texas planner, but that seems like an asinine waste of money to me.  The whole point of a planner is to coordinate with local vendors. 

Everything the light touches is my kingdom.