Attire & Accessories Forum

1st day dress shopping and I'm so discouraged

My mom is visiting from out of town so we made an appointment at a more posh local bridal shop to check out dresses. The sales lady told me that she had pulled me only size 16 dresses to try on which I was very encouraged by! The first dress I went to put on made it over my boobs before I realized it was in no way a 16. It was in fact an 8, got stuck half way on me and literally took 5 minutes for my mom to pull me out of it. I never been so embarrassed. I just had a baby 3 months ago and gained 50 lbs so Im still getting use to me new body and already very self conscience, this did not help.

We then headed to Davids Bridal where, after trying on 31 dresses I hated I came across one that was just what I was looking for. There are only a few minor changes I would like to have made but since its Davids Bridal they wont do it. I'm new to this whole dress game and after today I dont want to continue! I need some words of advice ladies, how did you get through your discouraging dress search (if you had one of course)?

Re: 1st day dress shopping and I'm so discouraged

• edited October 2010

Don't give up!  Did you take pictures of the dress that you liked at David's Bridal?  If not go back...they are camera friendly....try it on again and take a picture.  Then I would recomend going to some other stores with that picture and asking if they have something similar but with the changes that you wanted.  There are tons of stores you can go to :) Don't let one day of not find your dream dress get you down.  Don't settle for a dress you aren't 100% in love with.

I know how you feel, I am a plus size girl too!  I ordered my dress at 14W....I am determined to loose weight though! lol already lost 10...I'm hoping they will have to take it in to a 12 :) Also don't let those sample dress get you down!  Most are a size 10...which in reality is a size 7 or 8 lol Stay positive!