Snarky Brides
Options

I wish my mom were here for all this...

...because it makes it so much more complicated that she isn't (other than it sucks to get married without your mom).

I am doing our programs tonight, or rather, writing them up.

Parents of the Groom - easy.

Parents of the Bride? This effing sucks. I pretty much can't mention my dad without mentioning his wife. But she isn't my parent.

What should I do. Suck it up? 

Re: I wish my mom were here for all this...

• Options
    should I just have the heading - parents and then name my dad and FI's mom and dad?
  • Options
    That sounds reasonable to me.  But I'm not really an etiquette expert, and we are skipping programs altogether.

For what it's worth, I empathize with you- my mom passed away in 2003 and this whole wedding planning process feels strange without her, like I have a giant blind spot I refuse to look at because it's just too painful.
    "Plus who needs a purse when you have a wedding dress? Those things are like walking hobo bags just waiting to be stuffed with surprise treasures." -Wedinator.com image
  • Options
    I would include his wife and then maybe add something in the program about your mom?
    045_45-1 photo 045_45-1.jpg
    BabyFruit Ticker
    DX: PCOS/Recurrent losses/MTHFR mutation (compound hetero)
    5 hysteroscopies/2 surgical
    3 Inject IUIs = 2 m/c's and 1 BFN
    IVF #1= BFP. m/c at 7w6d. Needed 2 D&C's and scar tissue removal. Mild OHSS
    IVF #2 = BFP. Severe OHSS. 4 Drainings. TWINS!
  • Options
    That sounds okay to me too... I'd just worry about hurting your stepmom's feelings.  But you know her and your dad and the whole situation more than me.
    panther
  • Options
    urg. I think I need to just include her.