Snarky Brides
Options

I are serious Nugget, I need serious advice

Putting my usual shenanigans and asshatery aside.  So I have an associate's degree in arts.  It's a degree that I can transfer to almost any college in MN to start as a full junior.  I had always planned on doing that somewhat, but then I started working full-time and ended up focusing on that.   My family has been HARPING on me for the last few years to go back and get my degree.  Noodle has made is fairly clear that he'd like me to do it (although it's more of a "you're so smart, you could make more money, you should just go" than "I will divorce you if you don't get your BA.")  HIS parents always ask when I'm going back to school. 

Here's the thing, though - I really don't want to go back to school to get a bachelor's degree.  I keep hemming and hawing, because I don't want to disappoint anybody.  But I really love the job I'm currently doing, and I don't need a BA to do this job.  In fact, I could easily see myself doing this (or a job like this) for the rest of my life.  I'm not making six figures, but I'm making enough that we can maintain a comfortable lifestyle.  I just don't have any desire to go rack up a bunch of student debt for a degree that won't help me in any logical sense right now. 

Anyways.  Am I the only one who thinks like this?  Any suggestions on how I can break this news to my family (who find education VERY important)? 

If I wanted to hear the pitter-patter of little feet, I'd put shoes on the cat. image

Re: I are serious Nugget, I need serious advice

• Options
    I would tell them what you told us- you love your job, which doesn't require a BA, you make enough money to feel comfortable and you don't want to rack up tons of student loan debt.

Not having SL debt would be awesome. I won't know that feeling for another 7 years.
  • Options
    NuggetBrainNuggetBrain member
    First Comment
    edited December 2010