Getting in Shape
Options

New to the Board- Hello! Plus, how so I motivate FH to work out?

Hi Everyone!I'm new to this board, so quick intro post:My name's Amy, I'm a student and I work in an oncology lab on campus.  Six years ago, I was in a riding accident- the horse I was training fell on me- and I gained over a hundred pounds during my first two years of recovery.  I broke my femur, tore a bunch of ligaments in my shoulder and neck, broke a couple ribs, and had a head injury (my helmet broke upon impact, so I'm super glad I was wearing one and have become the local helmet Nazi!).  Before the accident I was always in great shape, so I think I'm lucky because I know how great it feels to be really fit and I know how to stay that way once I get there.  The hardest part for me was learning to go slow and change my expectations- I used to run 5 miles a day, and now I'm really happy when I finish 2 miles; I used to swim an hour three days a week, and now it kills my shoulder to be in the pool so I do weights instead; and I never ate sugar before my fall and now I love candy, so I'm trying not to eat so much of it :-)I've done 5+ years of physical therapy and worked with a nutritionist on and off my whole life (as an athlete trying to make the most of my calories, and then as someone trying to lose weight and keep it off) so I have a good idea of how to reach my goals, but staying motivated is really hard!  Plus, I used to eat ridiculously healthy- all raw veggies and lean proteins, fruit for dessert and ice cream on weekends, only whole-grain high-fiber carbs, and no processed sugar- and now I've become a foodie and I want to keep eating "real" food!My fiance could also use to lose some weight, but I don't know how to motivate him.  I'm super competitive when it comes to working out and since he's never done anything in a gym before I don't want to put that kind of pressure on him.  He shattered his ankle falling off the edge of a trail while hiking and gained almost