Getting in Shape
Options

Can't afford the GYM on our Wedding Budget

Our wedding is less than 3 months away. I've been procrastinating about working out, but I just want to tone up. I've got the healthy eating down, but I need some exercise! What do you guys recommend outside the gym.

I know workout videos help, but they get boring after a while. Any exercises you like doing at home?? FI and I have committed to playing tennis 3 days a week, but I'm a TOTAL beginner!

TIA!!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Can't afford the GYM on our Wedding Budget

• Options
    I started jogging recently specifically because it can be done any time, any place.  I've been using the treadmill at my apartment's "gym."  However,the treadmill isn't necessary, and its something I can do without buying any gym membership, etc.  I'm to the point where I want to start adding in weight lifting, but jogging is a good start!  

My FI and I hike on the weekends too.
  • Options
    I have some free weights I got at target, and I use those when I watch the today show. 

Also, walking is fantastic. 

One more idea, is if you could do netflix (the 8.99 month package) you can get different workout videos through that.
    Photobucket
  • Options
    There are lots of body weight exercises you can do at home and some of them are just as effective if not more, than using machines at the gym. 

Go on Youtube and find the proper way to do pushups, lunges, and squats. These three basic exercises will help build the majority of your muscles. Since you are a beginner, you may not need to add weights yet, but getting a set of 10lb or 12lb dumbbells to add to your squats and lunges will help. 

As for cardio, a jump rope is cheap and burpees are even cheaper. Get down these basic movements and make a circuit out of them. I'm a huge fan of CrossFit and many of their workouts use very little equipment, but their followers see amazing results. 

Good luck!

• Options