Getting in Shape
Options

shin pain on one leg?

good morning :)

I have started walking (4mph on the highest incline) on the treadmill for about 30-40 minutes Monday-Friday. The first 2 weeks my only issues were blisters, but they have finally healed and I was no longer having any issues with the treadmill until this week! I have a horrible stabbing pain in the middle of my right shin that is only there when I'm on the treadmill and it sucks! I had to get off after 20 minutes today because I couldn't take it anymore.

I did break my right foot 2 years ago and I have flat feet in general. I think I have pretty supportive shoes with a nice arch but I'm only having this pain on the right leg. It sucks!

I love the treadmill because I feel that I burn so many calories in a much shorter time compared to the bike or elliptical.

I've heard of shin splints but I'm fairly new to working out and am wondering if you ladies have any suggestions?

Thanks!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: shin pain on one leg?

• Options
    It sounds like shin splints to me. If you have someone that can help you stretch, you can do this:
    sit on the floor with your legs straight out in front of you.
    Have the person push and then pull on the tops of your feet so that it's like flexing and then pointing them.

That should help a little. You should also ice them.
    August 2011: E-Pic! Photobucket
    229 image Invited to celebrate!
    191 image Remembered to RSVP!
    26 image Can't make it
    7 image Got lost on the way to the mailbox

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options

That sounds like shin splints. I have them in both legs from doing Insanity. The only way to fix them is to take a 2 week or longer break from excercise and when you return to excercising make sure you warm up and stretch properly ecspecially your calf muscles. Also, make sure you have good tennis shoes. I'm just trying to push through the pain because my wedding is in 117 days and I want to be down at least 10 pounds.