Getting in Shape
Options

Natural Honey

Does anyone use it? I started a buying local kick last spring and since I cut out sugar (sugar is not produced in my area!) I sourced out some local honey and found an apiary and bought from them.

Normally (as in every year other than this one) I have BAD allergies this time of year, i am normally stuffed up once trees and flowers start to bloom until early June, but so far this year I havnt even had anything close to a sniffle or an itchy eye. I have read in a number of places that eating local honey reduces your allergies to pollen in your area because you are eating them and somehow become less allergic (im no scientist, pardon my lack of making scientific sense with that explanation).

Just wanted to give everyone a heads up, it might work for you too, and either way honey is delicious and eating local is great for your healthy and your local economy!

Re: Natural Honey

• Options
    I'm on a new eating local kick too (Well as soon as it's warm enough around here to buy anything local).  What do you use honey in?  Everything?  do you use it to bake?
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options
    a co-worker of mine makes his own honey and it is out of this world.  soo much better than the stuff you buy in the little bear.  I just wish he passed it out other than just at Christmas........
  • Options
    NebbNebb member
    5 Love Its First Comment Combo Breaker
    I normally use honey to sweeten my tea, I have a tea every night after dinner. I find a little honey goes a LONG way in terms of sweetening too. I just bought a new bottle at the market this morning and i dipped my pinky in some on the inside of the lid and felt sick it was so sweet at once!
  • Options
    The way the local honey consumption is supposed to help is by continually exposing you to the local pollens, helping your body to get used to them.

I may have to look in this for this coming year.  Do you think your apiary is local enough for me??