Getting in Shape
Options

What is Water Weight anyway?

Seriously.  I don't know what that means.  I Googled, and basically the sum of my research is that it's the water your body holds onto and that when you begin a diet, typically you drink more water, so your body thinks that will continue and lets go of what it's been clinging to.  Is that really all there is to it? 

Re: What is Water Weight anyway?

• Options
    I don't know the scientific definition, but when I step on the scale after eating a salty meal the day before, or during my period, or something like that, and I weigh an extra lb or 2, I consider that "water weight".  It usually goes away in a day or 2.  So I guess I use "water weight" in conversations to mean anytime the scale goes up a little but it isn't a real, lasting weight gain, just a day-to-day fluctuation.
  • Options
    I love this question!  For those who don't know, I'm a grad student in the medical research field, so I love to be nerdy!

The body stores extra energy (ie the extra calories not needed right then) for the short term in a molecule called glycogen.  When glycogen is broken back down into glucose to be used as energy (food for your muscles, normal body processes, etc), it releases water too (I think 4 molecules per glycogen molecule broken down.)  SO when you eat a big meal, the extra energy is stored as glycogen and broken down as you need it.  When you first start reducing your calorie intake, glycogen is the first thing broken down, before the body works on breaking down fat or muscle.   That means that a lot of water is released from the glycogen and removed as waste from the body (you pee more).  I hope the explains it for you!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glycogen
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options