Pre-wedding Parties
Options

Types of Bridal Showers?????

One of my mom's good friends offered to throw me a bridal shower-yea.  She has asked my mom what type of bridal shower I want to have.  I didn't even know that there were different types out there.  My mom mentioned something about a lingerie party and a kitchen party.  I feel clueless in this area.  Can someone help fill me in and possibly make suggestions as to the benefit of each? 

Also I saw a quiz here on the knot asking how many bridal showers the bride is having.  Is it common to have more than one??  I am having at least two only because my coworkers have a tradition of throwing every possible type of shower there is (I am a teacher-we love our parties).  Lastly, is there supposed to be a shower thrown from my side of the family and then a separate shower thrown from my fiance's side of the family?

Thanks in advance,
dazed and confused

Re: Types of Bridal Showers?????

• Options
    ErinC85ErinC85 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm no expert, but I don't think you HAVE to have any shower, much less a requisite shower from each family. Its just any person/people gracious enough to have a party in your honor-the only requirement as far as I can think of. A family member is having a shower for us (couples shower?) with close family and friends, and a friend is having one with just my girlfriends. 
    I was just as confused as you when the family member was asking what type I wanted and started rattling off a list of things. I just said I had a preference for any theme that strayed away from getting bedroom or lingerie items. Just because I'm not comfortable opening those types of gifts in front of people. I'd be bright red! So, thats something to consider. 
    HTH
  • Options
    danieliza1127danieliza1127 member
    5 Love Its First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011