Moms and Maids

Bridesmaids pay for own plate??!!

Has anyone heard of this? Bridesmaids paying for their own plate?

My best friend is recently engaged and she's been saying the strangest things when it comes to money.

She was showing us her registry when I jokingly said "This stuff is expensive! I'm gonna get you these $9 salad tongs". She threw a fit about how I'd better get her something good (read: pricey) from her registry. I figure I can afford about a $50-$75 gift, but not something in the $200-$300 range like most things on her registry. She knows I'm a student and hate asking my parents for money (she's a student too). I told her how we (the other bridesmaids and I) are paying for our dresses and travel expenses, and she can't expect a pricey gift from us too. Then she said the most absurd thing I've ever heard: "Bridesmaids are supposed to pay for their own plate too". I gave up arguing with her after that.

I know I have to pay for my dress, shoes, undergarments, etc. Plus I have to find some way to pay for a flight to Dallas and hotel room for 2-3 nights. And I'm not sure what the etiquette is on hair and makeup, but I'll probably end up having to pay for that too. On top of all that is gifts for the wedding, shower, and bachelorette parties.  But pay for my own food at the reception? I've never heard of that.

Sorry I'm ranting, but I was so ticked off that I wanted someone to agree with me!

Re: Bridesmaids pay for own plate??!!

• stina93446stina93446 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I didn't read your whole post, but it's seriously RUDE if a bride invites someone over for a party/wedding and makes her guests (yes bm is a guest) and has them pay for it. Bride might as well charge at the door.

Sunbonnet or cone of shame? You be the judge! Trixie's Blog
    My Planning Bio
    My Married Bio updated March 4
    First Comment
    edited December 2011