Moms and Maids
Options

Another FMIL Shower Drama

Hi everyone!

Nathan and I are getting married on 11/26/11, so it seems like it's a little early for family drama, but that's not the case.  Nathan is originally from IN, but moved to NJ to be with me.  Since our lives are here, we've decided to hold the wedding here.  We picked Thanksgiving wknd bc we knew a lot of people would have off of work and be able to travel.  Also, we live near NYC, so many people are making the wknd a vacation.

My FMIL goes back and forth btwn being excited for us and angry that we're getting married here.  She's already asked that my mother plan my shower for the summer before our wedding so that she and my FI's sisters can attend.  There are 2 issues with this--their school year runs from Aug-May and mine (I'm a teacher) runs from Sept-June.  Basically, we'll have to have the shower in July, a full four months before my wedding! 

I'm really not happy about rushing my shower for three people.  Also, I feel like since my mother is paying for and planning the shower, she really should pick the best time for her.  I would be more than happy to travel to IN for a shower from my FI's family. 

How do we deal with this without shutting my FMIL out?

Re: Another FMIL Shower Drama

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I would try to be accomodating. 

I have a shower at the end of July and we are not getting married until mid-October. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I agree with pp. Your wedding is as important to his mom as it is to your mom. You have good reasons to have the wedding on the east coast, but you should still be sympathetic to your FMIL's disappointment. I hope some of her family members are going to be able to attend your wedding.