Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums
Options

Acne and scars

I have tried everything from proactive to a dermatologist to micro dermabration and many of sephora's products that swear to help you with acne problems. Nothing has worked. I want to look great on my wedding but I hate my skin and im depressed about it. Does anyone know of something that would really work. My acne is not horrible is mostly scars and I get pimples only around my time of the month. I want to get rid of scars cause they are dark and is hard to cover them even with the best concealers 

Re: Acne and scars

• Options
    I would try another dermatologist if the first one didn't help you out enough.  For dark scars, a bleaching cream might work (hydroquinone), but it usually takes months if not longer to see results.  Overuse of hydroquinone can have bad side effects though so it should only be used under a doctor's supervision. 

Have you tried a deep chemical exfoliant like glycolic acid?  I'm not an expert by any means, but I'm thinking that maybe a GA peel might do wonders.  Again, you would have to go to a doctor's office for that because it can have serious side effects if not done properly (as in, it could burn your face off... not to scare you or anything lol). 

There are plenty of thick concealers out there so there has to be something available that will cover them.  Have you tried Dermablend?  What about a medical grade makeup?  Those are made to cover burn scars so I'd imagine they'd be more than heavy enough for acne scars.  
    BFP #1 Sept. 2011 EDD 5.25.12 missed MC on 11.17.11 | BFP #2 4.30.12 11dpo EDD 1.10.13 | Grow, baby, grow!
    01.03.09 {MARRIED BIO}
    imageimageimagePregnancy Ticker
  • Options

I second going to a new dermatologist. A good dermatologist is a life saver.  I am using Retina and second type of cream for spot treatments.  The Retina is get for skin turnover and reducing the visibility of scars as well as preventing acme. 

• Options