African American Weddings
Options

Holidays

So FI and are debating pushing out Memorial Day 2012 wedding back a few months. We want it on a holiday weekend so that we can have it on a weekday and score the discounts associated. I'm a teacher, he's a student/cook so we're out of touch with the holidays people usually have off or would hate to give up.

Which holiday is the least intrusive and would you be most likely to attend a wedding on?
577906 10151197172303105 844768324 n Follow Me on Pinterest www.shoplovelivelearn.blogspot.com Anniversary

Re: Holidays

• Options
    island07b2bisland07b2b member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    edited December 2011
    My wedding is on Labor Day weekend 2012 albeit on the Saturday and not the actual Monday holiday.  I wasn't too worried about the holiday in terms of people not wanting to give it up.  I figured those who really care and want to be there will be there.  If not, so be it.  The only holidays I never considered were Christmas and Thanksgiving as I know those are heavy laden in family traditions. 

Love is the ultimate superpower.   
    It can make you weak and strong simultaneously.  

• Options
    TNMurrayTNMurray member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    UI originally wanted a New Years Eve wedding, instead I have a July 4, wedding.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I voted New Year's a wedding would be a great way to kick off the new year . With Columbus Day I will warn you the only people who normally have that off are federal employees (banks, post office, government employees)
    Anniversary
  • Options
    M1ssJM1ssJ member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    Thanks ladies. He likes the NYE idea but since we're having a brunch reception I was kind of worried about having it the day after a "drinking" holiday