Washington-Seattle
Options

Ceremony location v. reception location...what's too far?

We're contemplating a late October wedding in 2011, but this pretty much necessitates it being indoors. The only indoor ceremony location I really love is in Tacoma, but the reception venues I like are all in Seattle or on the east side.

Do you think that's too far of a drive? It would be on a Saturday evening. About 1/4 of the guests are closer to Tacoma, 1/4 are closer to Seattle, and 1/2 are in Colorado (but we're probably going to have a 2nd reception in Colorado).

Re: Ceremony location v. reception location...what's too far?

• Options
    jennuinnejennuinne member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Yes.  That's too far.  What places do you like?  What are you looking for?  We may have suggestions.
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Ceremony @ Kilworth Chapel (UPS, in North Tacoma).

Reception venues...I have no idea. I'm new to all this. I like the idea of an intimate restaurant reception more than I like the traditional ballroom reception. I like wine, so anything wine related would be a plus. Water views are always a bonus!

I really had/have my heart set on Willows Lodge in Woodinville, but I don't see that setting working well in the late fall/rain. They have this green tent that I'm not crazy about.

I like the idea of the wedding being on 10/29/11 because that's our "date-versary", but it sure makes picking a venue tough in WA.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    The chapel at Bastyr in Kenmore is really pretty. 
    http://www.bastyr.edu/conference/bastyr-chapel.asp
    Then you could the reception at Willows Lodge - all though if I remember correctly, they have a minimum number of guest rooms you have to fufill/pay for....like 10 or something. 

Not sure how many people you are expecting but Johnny's Dock in Tacoma might be an option for the reception if it's a smaller wedding.
    Amanda & Joel