Wedding Woes
Options

Unethical business owners at the Carlyle Club in Alexandria, VA

First, I want to point out that I am an event coordinator so organizing this kind of small event is what I do for a living – I know how it should work.  I found the Carlyle Club on ProjectWedding.com and was ecstatic to see the pictures – the venue looked like it was going to match my theme perfectly.  The few reviews on the site were raving about the funky décor and great food.  My first warning sign should have been the owner’s delayed response to all my emails and phone calls.   While he responded immediately to my initial request for information, it took him an average of 2 – 4 days to respond to my communications from then on.  He is unreliable and does not answer his phone or email consistently.

We had some trouble getting our schedules to work out, but we finally had a first meeting on December 3rd.  In the email he sent me when we set our meeting date, the owner confirmed that he had put our date on hold (October 15th, 2011) to reserve the space for us.  In the initial meeting I asked all the normal questions that an event coordinator would ask, plus those of a bride.  The owners were incredibly nice and insisted that they could fit in any request I made – “we’re very flexible and just want your event to go well,” they kept saying.