Wedding Woes
Options

dad's proposal?

I am about ready to slap every single person on my dad's side of the family...
It's just one thing after another with them... lets start here:

I never have been close with my dad, and didnt meet him till I was 10, ( he has been with my half sister since the day she was born)

My dad lives 5.5 hours away and I don't see him often because i'm a broke college student and he always slaps that in my face

My dad's side of the family is always saying how I should just get over the fact that he didnt want anything to do with me until I was 10, and now that I am engaged they think they can put their input in on our wedding and say that I am a selfish snot who can't get over myself and just forgive my dad and get over it.

I dont feel we have a healthy relationship, at all... and THIS was my last straw with him:

Yesterday was my HALF sisters birthday= (same dad different moms, we were born 3 days apart, he birthday the 12th and mine the 15th of november)
my dad has always favored my sister, and so he proposed to his girlfriend yesterday as a birthday present to her...can you say slap in the face????

I have put up with drama from them my whole life and am done, I am seriously considering not inviting any of them to our wedding because I am not gunna be blamed for everything and I want our day to be filled with joy and people who care about us, which clearly my dad's side doesn't...

thoughts?

Re: dad's proposal?

• Options
    KarenofcourseKarenofcourse member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011