Pennsylvania-Philadelphia

cake woes

My baker still has not sent us our contract after 2 months.  I've never worked with a baker before so I don't know if this is reasonable..

We had our cake tasting back in November, and the person we met with was very friendly and enthusiastic about our unique idea -- we want a robot shaped cake.  They said they would get back to us in a week with a quote, which they never did.  I had to call 2 weeks later to get the quote.  In Januaray, I contacted them again to let them know we were definitely interested in booking them for our wedding, and they said to expect the contract in 2-3 weeks.  Over a month went by, and no contract.

I contacted them again 2 weeks ago inquiring about the missing contract.  They said they would get it out the next week, and I STILL don't have it!  This really worries me, I would think they'd be the ones anxious to get our deposit and commitment, not the other way around.  Is this how all bakers operate?  Do I really want to trust them with our wedding cake if we ever do get the contract?

My wedding is in August, so I hope we have time to find another baker if it comes to that.  We chose the one we did because we had originally seen a robot cake in their window a few years ago, and I thought they were reputable.  If anyone could recommend another baker that can do specialty cakes, please let me know.  thanks!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: cake woes

• edited December 2011
    I had a cake tasting and ordered my cake last month.  I get married in March. YOu have plenty of time.
  • RobotCakeRobotCake member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011