Wedding Woes
Options

Family Feud Over Location

I am relatively new to The Knot.  I became engaged about 3 weeks ago and have been enjoying spending the time with my fiance.  We are planning a wedding for Fall of 2012 and are currently planning to pay for the wedding ourselves. 

During the holidays, my parents have begun to voice their opinion about where the wedding should occur.  My FI's family lives in NJ and my family resides in CT.  FI and I live together in NJ near where his family lives.  My parents are insisting that the wedding be held in upstate CT since it is traditional for a wedding to be held at the Bride's church. 

The area that my family lives in is beautiful, however it is only convenient for them.  All of my FI's family, all of our friends, and my extended family live closer to NJ.  Also, my parents moved to northern CT after I went to college, so I have no real attachment to the area.  The area is also very rural and it would be difficult to find hotels near the ceremony and reception sites that can accommodate our guests.

My father has been getting angry and storming out of the room if I say anything to suggest that it may not be practical to hold the wedding near them. 

FI and I have not decided where to hold the wedding yet and are planning to discuss that this week, but there is overwhelming pressure from my side of the family to hold it in CT.  I am thinking that he and I will just decide and then tell people, "We want to invite __ guests, have it in [insert state here] and we would like you to be part of it."   However, I still do not want to create long-lasting resentment over the wedding location.

Am I in the wrong?  Even if my parents end up contributing to the wedding, does that mean that they get to decide where it is held?
Has anyone else dealt with this?
Visit The Nest! Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Family Feud Over Location

• Options