• Images
  • Text
  • Find a Couple + Registry
GO
June 2010 Weddings

The Hyphen!

Good morning ladies! I know this has been discussed elsewhere, but I would really like your opinions. I have been working in my field for 5 years, and just graduated and got my first certification. Everything I've done has my initials - ADM. I'm not comfortable changing my last name, so I'm considering hyphenating the two. So I'd be Amber M-P. I could keep my initals, but still be Mrs. Pauling. Does anyone have any experience with this?? What are you all doing?? TIA!

Re: The Hyphen!

• I would do whatever feels right for you. What's right for someone else might not be right for you. I, personally, wouldn't bother hyphenating since that would be more trouble to explain for the next 50 years than its worth to me to go through the trouble of just changing a name. If you've only graduated, you don't have a HUGE professional name and it'd be a small hassle (I'd imagine) to swap out a name.But once again, I'm clueless here and it comes down to what you want and what's best for you.And obviously, your FI's feelings should be taken into consideration as well. Based off your blog, it looks like your mind is already made up on the hyphen. :)
  • Whatever feel comfortable to you and your lifestyle.  My last name fits my first name perfectly... but I'll be taking FI's name because I don't want to have a different last name than my kids.  If I use a hyphen... my last name total would be like 30 letters long!  hahah no way for me.  I know someone who professionally used her maiden name and socially used her married name.