• Images
  • Text
  • Find a Couple + Registry
GO
September 2010 Weddings

How to include children in Ceremony

Ok.. I'm new at this...the last time I planned a wedding it was almost 22 years ago and no children involved...
Now that I am remarring...I want to include my 3 daughters which are 16, 18 and 21...their dad remarried a year ago and they had a sand ceremony...is there anything else that can be
done without using the sand?

Re: How to include children in Ceremony

• You can gift them a necklace during the ceremony or another piece of jewelry.
  • Could you have them lighting the unity candle with you guys?  I've seen it be the mother of thebride and groom, and I don't know if it would be too crowded having five people light the candle, but it could be a nice thing to do, saying a little something beforehand about uniting your families.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Maybe you could do a more specialized Unity candle. You could call it a family candle and have one taper for each person in the family, one for you, one for FI, and one for each child?

http://www.2.a-weddingday.com/weddings/blendingfamilyweddingceremony.html This site has some family unity ceremony ideas (some are a little young for your daughters' ages, but you can always take an idea and customize it to your liking!)

I've also heard of using water for a unity ceremony, with different colors of water.
    Me: 26 DH: 32
    TTC since 08/2010
    Anovulatory since at least 12/2010 (probably longer, unDx)
    Dx PCOS 3/2012
    SA 5/25/12--normal
    June 2012--50mg clomid+TI--BFN
    July 2012--50mg clomid+Ovidrel+TI--BFN, lining at 5mm
    August 2012--5mg femara+Ovidrel+TI
  • are you going to have bridesmaids?? You can just have them as your 3 bridesmaids probably!
  • Amanda is right on--- I'm the one using the Unity Water--I highly reccomend it :o)