Pennsylvania-Philadelphia
Options

other peoples wedding gifts

I'm going to a friends wedding this weekend.  I'll be honest, I'm a little low on cash these days.  I'll be getting paid twice at the end of the month which is always helpful but as far as this weekend's wedding is concerned, I can't afford to give her a decent amount.  If her wedding was 2 weeks later, it would be a different story.  Has anyone ever bought something off the registry for a wedding gift?  I've never done this before and always thought cash was the way to go.  I was thinking of giving her a smaller amount of cash than I usually would and buying her something nice off of her registry.  This way, I can charge it and pay for it next month when I'll be back on track financially.  What do you think?  This may be a stupid question but I'm clueless with this stuff.  Thanks.
Photobucket

Re: other peoples wedding gifts

• Options
    edited December 2011
  • Options
    Stacylynn702Stacylynn702 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I figure this way she's not getting screwed.  THe other option would be to "forget" her card and mail a check to her in a couple of weeks but I know I'll forget.
    Photobucket
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I tink option 2 is great.  Something fun I like to do is incorporate the couple's wedding date into the check amount....can you add $6.26 (or whatever the date is) as a little sentimental touch?  Maybe that will hlep you feel better about giving a smaller check.  I think some cash plus a gift off the registry is great. 
  • Options
    Northstar1808Northstar1808 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    It's totally fine to do that. I don't see why not. I mean she has a registry for a reason.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I think I would like if someone did that, gift and money. It is the best of both worlds :)

• Options
    First Comment
    edited December 2011