Catholic Weddings

No Cantor?

Do you think it would be possible to have a non-mass catholic wedding ceremony without a cantor? I tried to contact my organist/pianist about this, but he's MIA :( The only thing I could see this being an issue with is the Alleluia? Thoughts? Suggestions?

Re: No Cantor?

• Calypso1977Calypso1977 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    you dont need him.  we had a wedding WITH mass and did not have any sort of vocalist/cantor.  saved us $150.
  • ring_popring_pop member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    The gospel acclamation can be spoken, and the psalm can be read. (I always prefer sung psalms, but that's just me because I'm a musician.) If you don't want a cantor, you don't need one.
    Baby Birthday Ticker
    Baby #2: Surprise BFP 9.19.12, EDD 5.24.13, natural m/c 10.19.13 at 9w
  • edited December 2011
    Our church required a cantor.  I'd check with your priest.  It sounds like it wasn't a problem for others, so maybe this was just something specific to my parish.
    DOR and AMA
    2/12-5/12: 4 IUI cycles = all BFN;
    7/12: DE IVF # 1 (with ICSI)- 20R, 16M, 14F, 5DT of 2 blasts (4AB & 3BB); 6 frosties = BFN;
    Lupus anticoagulant initially high, then found to be normal on hematology consult;
    Follow up testing in September all clear;
    Started synthroid for "high normal" TSH;
    FET # 1- late October 2012- BFP on FRER; beta # 1- 21(low), beta # 2- 48 (still low), beta # 3- 132, beta # 4- 1,293; beta # 5- 5,606; last beta- over 100,000. First u/s 11/21- heard heartbeat
    12/12- Officially an OB patient!
    Keeping fingers crossed
    Everyone is welcome!
  • edited December 2011