July 2011 Weddings

I'm New!

Hello Ladies,

I am new to this board, I've been using my local board mostly and am just discovering this one!!

I'm Kristin, my fiance's name is Doug and we're from Maine.  I am a first year medical student, he is an electrician.  We've been engaged for 9 months now and are planning a July 2011 wedding.  We got engaged with the plan of having a long engagement.  Actually it got shortended when we started thinking about planning, we..wel really I decided let's not wait that long.  Initially we thought we'd wait until I finish school (just under 4 years from now).  We decided on our date because it's at the end of my 2nd year, which if any of you are familiar with the way medical school works you know that's the point of transition; our classes end and we start our clinical training through rotations. 

It's all very exciting and every step we take in planning makes me that much more excited for the big day! We don't have anything booked yet, we're still looking at venues.  We know which church we want to get married at, it's just a matter of booking it.  I'm not worried about it though, we still have plenty of time and we live in a rural area so I don't forsee it getting booked quickly.  I go home in a couple of weeks for Christmas break..during my 2 weeks off we'll be looking at venues and possibly book the church.

How far along in the planning process are the rest of you?

Re: I'm New!

• Congrats and welcome to the board!! Are you going for your DO degree in Maine? If so I know the school you are at I went there for my undergrad and am doing my masters online there too.
    Planning is awesome. We have our church, reception, and photographer booked. Good luck with your planning!
    My Bio
    image Wedding Countdown Ticker
    image 154 Invited
    image 47 Ready to Party
    image 7 Missing out
    image 100 Need to find the mailbox
  • Thanks! :) That is exactly where I am :). I love it!! What program are you doing?