• Images
  • Text
  • Find a Couple + Registry
GO
August 2011 Weddings

calm me down, tell me I'm being a brat...

You all remember that bridesmaid who's been a pain in the butt I vented about the other day? She irritated me this morning and I'm not sure if I'm overreacting.

We're all going next week (the 2nd) for my first dress shopping trip. She was invited along with my MOH and two other friends of mine. In passing conversation today (via text messaging) she has informed me that she has already invited her little sister and niece (17 and 12, respectively) to come along with us so that the three of them can look at bridesmaid dresses for HER reception!

I'm kinda pissed off. This is MY day. I know that sounds so childish, but it's my first time ever trying on dresses. She can make an appointment of her own any other day, can't I have one or two hours to be special just for me? She hasn't even set the date for her supposed reception yet, so why does she have to do this now? And why does she even need BM dresses for just a reception anyway? (Remember, she's already married).

Plus, it's not like it's a convienience thing since none of my friends are in her bridal party - in fact, none of my friends are even her FRIENDS. So it's almost like she's subjecting me and the other 3 women to look at BM dresses for her wedding when they don't even really care.

Plus, I'm taking the girls out to lunch and drinks after my appointment - so now there's 2 extra people - and KIDS at that?!?!

HOWEVER, I know I'm being a baby and that I am not the only bride in the state and that she has every right to try on whatever she wants. But I can't help but feel like she's only trying to take some of the spotlight off of me.

Am I being a brat?

Re: calm me down, tell me I'm being a brat...

• In my opinion, you aren't quite in the realm of brattiness. You are more on the cusp, trying to decide if you are going to switch into brat status.