Connecticut

Waveny House - air conditioning

Hi! I'm new to this and need help! We just booked the Waveny House in New Canaan for early Sept ... anyone have any insight or experience with the weather there? They don't have AC so i'm a bit worried ... Let me know! THANKS!!!!

Re: Waveny House - air conditioning

• starrbuk13starrbuk13 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    i can't help on that place specifically, but i did have the same situation at my wedding. my venue had AC, they just didn't turn it on for our wedding, which was in August. i thought they were going to and i was definitely not happy with the lack of AC, but i was too busy to say anything to them. we had an indoor space with a huge deck on back, so they just left all the windows & doors open. it was definitely hot in there, but as the evening went on it cooled off a lot. i didn't hear anyone complaining, except 1 girl who actually made a point to come up to me and ask my why there wasn't AC. RUDE imho. anyway, i'd say as long as you can keep windows or doors open to allow some breeze, you should be fine. what time is you reception?
  • edited December 2011
    That's good to hear! Our reception is at 6pm so I'm thinking it will be cool enough - or hoping! Lots of windows, doors and outdoor space :) THANKS!!!!!!!!!!
  • edited December 2011
    We were there last year for a late Sept wedding on a "warmer" evening (i.e. it wasn't hot but it was a bit more than seasonable).  If memory serves, they had the windows open and the fresh air definitely seemed to make a difference -- either that, or the doors being open on the front & back of the house made it seem like windows were open.I'm sure you'll be fine and you certainly picked a lovely spot for your big day!
  • CCanigliaCCaniglia member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011