Hawaii

Maui venue suggestions? (newbie here)

Hey everyone, I'm Tenaya and have been engaged for the past two months.  My fiance, Dave and I originally decided on a traditional wedding in our hometown in southern California.  We have since been considering a Hawaii wedding in order to cut down the guest list and do away with a large wedding party.  We are both very familiar with Maui (Dave has family there) so it would be the ideal island for our wedding (oh, and that's where we got engaged!)  We want to get married next summer, are expecting around 30 guests and have a medium/moderate/not quite Chelsea Clinton-sized budget.  I'm pretty much just in the brainstorming phase of planning this potential Hawaiian wedding, and the initial research is making my brain hurt!!  Any suggestions on where to begin when planning a Hawaiian extravaganza? Best ceremony and reception venues?  Do's and dont's? I have a very open mind at this point. Help is greatly appreciated Wink
PhotobucketWedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Maui venue suggestions? (newbie here)

• edited December 2011
    Hi, congratulations on the engagement!  There are plenty of great venues on Maui.  It helps to get a sense of what type of venue you want.  For example:

Beach wedding
    Ocean front lawn wedding
    Hotel wedding
    Restaurant banquet v. catered banquet

As for Do's, I would suggest the following:

Check out the Maui planning site:
    http://maui.weddings.com

Browse the forum and check out the planning bios of Maui brides -- lots of great details you can learn from.

Google Maui wedding planners - many of them have a variety of venues they recommend right from the website.

Once you have a better sense of what you want, I'm sure folks will have tons of suggestions.  It's just hard to recommend out of the blue without knowing what you are looking for.