Michigan-Detroit
Options

NWR: Job Advice

Hi! I have a situation and I would love to get some outside opinions on this. I am a social worker. I am currently working in a mediocre job - the first place that offered me something after graduation. The money is.... so so but this job works with a population that I'm not necessarily head over heels about. The pay is at a set amount with no room for advancement and no pay increases... ever, because it is from a non profit funding source., I just got called for an interview with the City of Detroit - Police Department. This job is in the Domestic Violence/Rape/Homicide Unit. This is my dream job!!!! The pay is 5,600 more per year to start with the opportunity for advancement and pay increases. Here's the downside.... I live in Algonac which is about 50 miles one way (we were going to move anyways we might just have to hurry up on that). The other downside is that they're looking for an afternoon or midnights social worker because this unit is 24/7. I've never worked anything but 8-4/9-5 so I'm not sure how I will adjust to that. What would you do? Do you work afternoon/midnights? How do you like it and how did you adjust? How does that work with your relationship with FI/DH? TIA
BabyFruit Ticker

Re: NWR: Job Advice

• Options
    mink492mink492 member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I don't work midnights, but FI does. He works 12 hour shifts, 6-6, so he's going to work when I'm getting home & getting home when I'm getting up for work. For us, it works pretty well, mostly b/c he only works 3-4 nights a week. Personally, I don't think I could do it, I need sleep. But as far as our relationship, it hasn't affected us negatively, except I'm lonely in the evenings 3-4 nights/week. :) Good luck! For your dream job, I'd try it out.
  • Options
    edited December 2011