Michigan-Detroit
Options

Searching for a wedding venue

Hello everyone my name is Amber, I am new to message board. =) My finace and I are looking at wedding venues for our October wedding of next year. We live in Clarkston MI and we are trying to find something not necessarily in the area but not to far away. We are planning and paying for the wedding ourselves so we are trying to save money where possible. We have not set a budget but we are trying to not go over board with the costs. The places we have looked so far are around 20,000 for the ceremony, and reception. Does anyone have any suggestions on nice venues that are any cheaper? 

Re: Searching for a wedding venue

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I'm having my reception at MacRay Harbor on 10/20/12, and the place is gorgeous!  It's in Harrison Township.  They have no minimum spend amount in October, so I think we're getting by with 230 people for about $14-15,000.  So if your guest count is lower, you could do even better than that.  We aren't having our ceremony there, but I do know that they have that option.  Definitely check it out!  We booked it a month ago.
    Anniversary
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I don't really have any suggestions for venues but don't forget you can save a lot of Money by having a Friday wedding. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    How many guests are you planning on having?

My wedding is at Shepherd's Hollow in Clarkston, MI THIS SATURDAY!!  (Yay!)  It's beautiful.  It's not cheap, but it includes many things that other venues will charge you extra for (chairs, linens, cake cutting, 5-hour premium open bar, champagne toast for all, etc).

We also looked at Indian Springs Metropark....close to you and very pretty as well.  It's less expensive, but still nice.  
  • Options
    jolla92126jolla92126 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011