Wedding Etiquette Forum

"Old friends" inviting themselves

My fiancé and I are planning a destination wedding to take place over a year from now. We want to keep it under 100 people and I have a lot of family. Tonight I got a phone call from a girl I played with when we were growing up, but have not talked to since I graduated 3 years ago. We also weren't good friends in high school. She was my best friends little sister in high school. I am not even friends with the best friend anymore. Anywho, she called to say that she would like to be invited to my wedding. I explained to her that we do not even have a location set and I have to worry about family first. She got hysterical and started crying and saying that she loved me and wanted to be invited and was upset her sister wasn't a bridesmaid. Turns out she was with one of my friends who my maid of honor. So, then my maid of honor gets on the phone and starts telling me I should invite her and I've hurt her feelings and it's just one person. I tried to explain to her and tell her it is my wedding and I don't even have a list yet. They were both hysterical and got off the phone. I am not worried about ruining a friendship that does not exist by not inviting this girl, but I’m afraid it will affect my friendship with my maid of honor. And I don't know how to handle the situation with her now.How does everyone else decide who to leave off the invite list and how to deal with upset people?

Re: "Old friends" inviting themselves

• How childish. If you're unsure you want to invite them, then odds are you probably shouldn't. You shouldn't allow yourself to be bullied into going over your budget or original guest count.