Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

wedding shower

I am a senior nursing student and I got engaged over the holidays.  I would love to be able to have a shower be it a lingerie shower or a full out shower with my friends from school before we graduate in may because I will be moving 3 and a half hours away after graduation and I feel like we will all lose touch, but I don't know if it would be appropriate bc my Fi and I are not getting married until June 11, 2011, and we have decided on a private destination wedding. We will be having a Reception about a month after the wedding when we get back (given the fact that his family still offers to pay, if not then we will have a smaller family reception).  Is it appropriate to get with my friends and see if they want to do something like this? I have participated in all of their engagement parties, showers, weddings, and ect.... I feel like I should have my day too.

Re: wedding shower

• Options
    It sounds like what your saying is, is it ok if I have a party so all the friends I made here in college can give me gifts before I move away and lose all these potential gift givers....If you want to have a girls night go ahead, don't make it about getting gifts
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
    156image 108image 48image RSVP Due 5/18
    New Bio
  • Options
    edited January 2010
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_wedding-shower-1?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding BoardsForum:9Discussion:9468a38b-a87a-4177-8de5-23554a8b24cePost:5f4ba45c-3477-405f-89d2-77a4bb70032b">wedding shower</a>: