Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Tipping Vendors

Hi,

I am new to this page, and am really sorry if this is like a repeat post. I was wondering what the ettiquette is in regards to tipping vendors. I believe all of my vendors are owners of their businesses and will be on site the day of. I had read somewhere that you don't need to tip vendors if they are the owner of the company, however, I feel like since they are providing a service (DJ, photobooth, photog) then they should be compensated for their efforts.

Thoughts?

Thank you

Re: Tipping Vendors

• Options
    Tiping is totally discretionary. I guess some people think that business owners don't need to be tipped because they set their own prices and compensation, but knowing some business owners, they set their prices to be competitive rather than to pull in a large profit.

Pretend that none of your vendors own their businesses, but are employees. If they do a poor job would you tip them? Prob not. If they are excellent would you tip them? Most certainly. Tips are gratuity to show gratitude for a service well done.

Base who and how much you tip on your experience with the vendor, not the logistics of their organizational structure.
     Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Options
    Maggie0829Maggie0829 member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    edited December 2012
    Tipping is completely voluntary no matter if it is the owner of a business or an employee of the business.

I think you should take PP advice.  Tip according to how you think the service they provided went.  If they sucked, don't tip.  If they rocked it, tip away.  If the service was only so-so, then provide a little something if you want but don't feel that it is necessary to do so.

• Options
    Thank you! I have budgetted to tip them based on if they did an awesome job, which I feel like they will. Your insights have been totally helpful.

Thanks
  • Options