Wedding Etiquette Forum

NWR: coverletter help!

So I'm applying for a job in finance.  I have a degree in economics and have experience in finance so I'm not worried about my resume but I've been unemployed since last December (when I was laid off).  In my cover letter for this new job, is it appropriate to put that over the last year I've remained active in the finance industry by being a principle member of my church's stewardship committee?  There's 3 of us that hand all the finances/accounting/data entry/letter mailing etc for a pretty big church (550 families), so it's a good 5-6 hours every week I put in but the job I'm applying to is in the public sector so I feel weird talking about "non-PC" things like religion...

thoughts....

also, when I was first laid off- for about 4 months- I thought I could be re-called to my old public sector job but it ended up not happening due to re-org (my old title that I could have been re-called to was completely eliminated) so how (or do I) address the 12 months of unemployment really being more like 8 months?  If that makes sense...

Re: NWR: coverletter help!

• Cover letters on a Sunday night - yuck! I think writing cover letters is my least favorite thing to do.  I'm in law so it's wholly possible that there are other norms in your field but here is what I would do:

If the work that you are doing for your church is close to the same skill level as the work that you hope to do in the new position then I would just put it on your resume as experiece since it really is comparable experience.  If you are applying for an accounting position, I don't think the fact that you volunteered or that you did the work for a church makes the experience any less valuable.  By fitting this onto your resume, you can make your unemployment less prominent.