Pennsylvania-Pittsburgh

How the h*ll should I know?

So I was just given the task of deciding on what type of lighting we should put in our hallways in our new building.  Something that would highlight whatever signage, pictures, artwork may be on the walls (specifics as yet unknown) but provide sufficient lighting for people walking through the halls.

Now, I'm no Interior Designer, nor am I a lighting expert, so why the h*ll are you asking me? Apparently the architects are wondering to plan for what type of electrical to run through the ceilngs.  Aren't they the ones who should be helping to answer this question?

My first thought was to stay away from the horrible box fluorescent lights in most offices.  I really hate those things.  But, maybe that's best?  Does anyone know anything about lighting?

I'm thinking maybe track lighting, or downlights (but I have no idea if these would give off enough light).  And I'm supposed to write up something about what kind we should use, and why.  WTF?

Re: How the h*ll should I know?

• edited December 2011
    Um, wow.  Please tell me this is not due before you go away for the holidays.
  • Er/jerEr/jer member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    No - they want it the day I return from the holidays.  On the 4th.  So basically I have the next 20 minutes, tomorrow, and probably the morning of the 4th.  Love it.
  • edited December 2011
    What the shizz? I dont' know anything about office lighting. I like lamps. :P
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • hey_its_jennhey_its_jenn member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I had a friend from high school go to school for lighting, mainly he does stage lighting for theater.  I can see if I can get his email address for you?  Not sure if he can help but he's the only lighting person I know... haha.

Married 9/19/09
    Me: 27 // DH: 31
    TTC # 1 Since October 2010 (Not preventing since 2009)