Chit Chat
Options

Political Question

Fellow knotties: I have a random political question for all of you and am interested in your viewpoints.

I have always been pro-gay marriage. I have my Master's in political science so I have always seen it as an equality issue and human rights issue. Now that I'm engaged, it has become a very emotional issue for me. I cannot imagine not being able to marry my man because other people didn't respect our union.

So in other words, even though my view hasn't switched sides, it has evolved. My question: have any of you switched your position on gay marriage after getting engaged? Was anyone against it and changed their minds when they were in a position to get married? I'm just curious, it's kind of an interesting juncture between values/beliefs and emotions.

Anniversary

Re: Political Question

• Options
    Nope my thoughts remain the same: people need to get hobbies. If you're concerned about someone else's loving relationship and its legal status, get a hobby.
  • Options
    No, nothing has ever changed for me. The only concern I have is promoting equality.
    image   imageimage
    You'll never be subject to a cash bar, gap, potluck wedding, or b-list if you marry a Muppet Overlord.

• Options
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_chit-chat_political-question?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:14Discussion:1d282355-3a27-4e5a-b070-8ade4bce47f5Post:54684055-ae7e-45e2-8665-964edaac2e81">Re: Political Question</a>:
    [QUOTE]My conviction that is needed to be legal only got stronger. Getting married in a state that allowed gay marriage- in a venue that had held several gay marriages and posted their pictures as proudly as any other couple - gave me the warm fuzzies. I tried to keep our ceremony as gender-nuetral as I could, because I didn't want my marriage to have wording that excluded gay couples.
    Posted by Harry87[/QUOTE]