Wedding Etiquette Forum

Inviting ceremony musicians to reception

I am thinking of asking the choir of the school where I am a teacher to sing a piece at my ceremony. Obviously I will make a donation to the school or whatever else the principal would like me to do as payment. However, I'm not sure what the etiquette is regarding inviting them to the reception. Should I invite them, even if they will not be performing during the reception, only at the ceremony? Does it make a difference that they know me, since they are my students? For clarity, I am a teacher but I am NOT the choir director.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Inviting ceremony musicians to reception

• No I don't think you need to invite them to the reception.  Even though you aren't really hiring them, only making a donation they are still a vendor at your wedding and typically ceremony musicians aren't invited to the reception (unless they are a family member or close friend).

Also, say you invite them all, who will be the one to watch all the children?  This is not a field trip, this is your wedding.

• itzMSitzMS member
    First Answer First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    I think you should just scratch this idea. That's a lot of kids to coordinate, and you're not getting married during normal school hours, I'd assume since your wedding is on a Saturday in August...

I would bet the students are under 18 as well? So you'd probably have to add in either their parents or other adult chaperones.
  • What about my ceremony guitarist? He's a vendor (I have a signed contract, paying him for his time). Am I supposed to invite him and a guest also? I understand that my officiant is invited with guest. Those feel similar to me.