Pennsylvania-Pittsburgh
Options

another liscense question...

finances are looking tighter and the idea of more expensive airfare and extra days of car rental needed for the 3 day waiting period are not looking so great. so I was doing more research on how to get a marriage licence in PA and talked to a woman in the Allegheny county office. She pretty much said that there was no waiving the waiting period unless someone was in the military or there was a medical emergency. She did suggest going through a neighboring county. I was wondering if anyone out there had experience with the Westmoreland or Washington county offices? Has anyone successfully gotten a waiver of the waiting period?

Re: another liscense question...

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I got my marriage license in Westmoreland county, but waited the 3 day period. I'm not an expert on this, but I really don't think they'd waiver it just because you can't be in town that long. I'm OOT, and got it mailed to my parents' house in PA since I couldn't personally go pick it up. Can you get it mailed to a relative's house? I'm not sure if they'll mail it to another state...

ETA: I just remembered your other post on this.... so you're talking about getting it right before the wedding, right? If so, then obviously ignore my advice on having it mailed. I'm sorry I don't have any other suggestions...
  • Options
    jrsygrl10jrsygrl10 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    i dont know that you are going to have much success getting it waived. are you so close that you can't wait the 3 days and have it mailed to you or another address?
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I don't think you will have any luck getting the waiting period waived except for military, someone was on their death bed, etc.