Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

NWR Question About Tipping

I got my hair cut this morning by a different lady than usual (same salon). We were making the usual small chat, and she asks what I do for a living. I tell her I work part-time and am in grad school at _____ University. Now admittedly, this university does have the local reputation of being the rich kid, bratty school.

But her response is (probably slightly paraphrasing), "Oh, you go to ____ University? You must think pretty highly of yourself and your fancy little degree then." Shocked, I think I said "I'm sorry, what?" So she clarifies, "Everyone who goes there is pretty pretentious, and Mommy and Daddy typically just pay out a buttload (yes, she used this word) on demand for them." I retorted that I was paying my own way, working, etc. and the rest of the appointment was pretty quiet.

I was really offended by the whole thing and ended up not leaving a tip since I thought it was so unprofessional (the haircut itself was fine).

Discussing this with a friend over brunch and she's insisting that I still should have tipped something since that's how the stylists make their livelihood, feed their kids, etc. She thinks I should call up the salon and say I forgot to leave a tip and would like to leave one now. What do you all think?

Re: NWR Question About Tipping

• Options
    I wouldn't tip her.  Professionalism is part of what I consider when I leave a tip.  You better believe if someone said something that rude to me, their tip would decrease all the way down to zero.  Being good at what you do is just part of my tipping scale.  If you suck at the rest and put me in a bad mood to top it off, I don't care how great my hair look, I won't be back, and it's doubtful that I would tip.

June 1, 2013 - finally making it official!

• Options