Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Question about inviting children

hordolhordol member
First Answer 5 Love Its First Anniversary Name Dropper
edited May 2013 in Wedding Etiquette Forum
So my FI and I have about 6 weeks until the wedding. We already sent the invites and have a final guest list and don't really have the room to alter it, but I do want to know your opinions because I would like to know for future reference. I see the most common suggestion on this board regarding children is either all or none, or invited in circles.

(ETA: When I say 'future reference' I do not mean that I am planning on having another wedding at some point, lol, only that i would like to know for knowledge's sake.)

We invited some children, but not all. We didn't invite in circles either. Frankly, I believe children are people, too, and it's silly to say you should invite all or none. We don't do that with adults, why would I treat children like that? (I am a teacher and love kids, but I didn't feel obligated to invite every single one just because I invited some.)

Example: I invited all children that are in the family and the children of close friends and people in the bridal party (including my pastor's kids). Friends of ours that we are not as close to and FI or I don't really know the kids, we did not invite. We haven't had any backlash on this that we are aware of.