Attire & Accessories Forum

Altering dress to shoe length and switching to flats/bare feet?

I recently purchased my dress! It is floor length with a train that will have to be bustled. Now I've started to think about the shoes I will wear...

I am fairly new to the world of heels and have really only started wearing heels and high heeled boots within the past two years. I wear them regularly to work and I'm pretty confident in my ability to walk in heels. I also think they are adorable!

However, though I'm confident in my heel walking abilities, I am not confident at all in my heel dancing abilities! To be honest I've always been a barefoot dancer. In high school all the girls would hide their shoes under their coats so they wouldn't get stolen and then just dance barefoot. So did I. And that trend continued in the few weddings I've been to. I even tried to dance in gladiator sandals at a bar/club recently on a slick dance floor and it was awful. I felt like my shoes were sliding everywhere and even though they were strapped on my heels were slipping out the sides! That makes me especially nervous about dancing in heels! I know from snooping on other boards some people think that's gross but whatever I've never been alone in that decision! lol

So now that I'm looking into shoes I think heels are way cuter but worry that if I get my dress hemmed for 3 inch heels it'll be in my way all night if I decide I can't dance in heels.

It seems like a lot of brides do this, though. Any advice or experience in this field? Am I worrying over nothing? Will 3 inches not make a big difference? Should I just opt for flats instead? Did you just practice a lot dancing in heels??

Re: Altering dress to shoe length and switching to flats/bare feet?

• You can buy platform flip flops to change into.  Or, just buy 3 inch heels from a dancing shoe company (i.e. the kind of shoes that ballroom dancers wear--they are specifically made not to slip off).