Pennsylvania-Pittsburgh

Finding a Catholic church for the ceremony

I am pretty new to The Knot and very new to discussion boards, but I thought perhaps someone might be able to help with my ceremony venue dilemma.  I am not Catholic but my fiance is and we have decided to have the ceremony in a Catholic church.  The most natural choice would be the church he was raised in; however, we just booked Edgewood Country Club for the reception and I am concerned about how far away the church is from the reception venue.  We are going to have a lot of out-of-town guests since my family and I are not from the area so I thought it might make more sense to have the ceremony at a church closer to the reception location.  Does anyone have any thoughts or advice?

Re: Finding a Catholic church for the ceremony

• I have a lot of OOT guest too and we are getting married in my catholic church and have a hour drive to the reception. Now granted there is only 2 or 3 main turns but I wanted it there. People have GPS and if they don't give them. Choose the church that has meaning! FI faily is not from the area but they will all follow one another and be together. The day is about the two of you!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • how far is your FI's church?
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Some Catholic churches are strict in their rules governing who can be married in their church, so I would contact your FI's home church first to ensure that is a viable option.  You may also want to contact a few near your reception venue just to confirm whether they will allow your ceremony to be held there or not.

Also, to be married in the Catholic church you will have to complete pre-cana classes approved by the Diocese of Pgh, and they typically must be completed 6 months prior to the wedding (unless there are extraneous circumstances).

Good luck!