Not Engaged Yet

Here Goes Nothing...

So, here's the situation- my boyfriend and I have discussed marriage and he stated for the longest time that we would get engaged after I graduated in May. I patiently waited for months, but he never proposed. Well, in October I brought marriage up again to make sure that we were still on the same page, and he spilled the beans that he is not ready for marriage and does not know if he ever will be.

At the conclusion of the conversation, he stated that if he had not proposed by Christmas (yesterday), he probably would not ever propose. Well, we're not engaged and I feel that he has deceived me because for months he told me that he wanted to marry me and wants a family. A solution would be to change my dreams from having children and owning a house, etc. with him to just being his girlfriend for the rest of my life.

Would you alter goals/dreams to be with someone?

CN: Boyfriend said he would propose after I graduated, but never did. When I recently brought marriage up he told me that if he had not proposed by Christmas he probably would not. Well, we're not engaged and Christmas was yesterday, so it probably won't happen. Would you alter your goals/dreams to be a girlfriend for the rest of your life?

Re: Here Goes Nothing...

• edited December 2011
    Personally? No, I wouldn't give up being married and having children for a guy. Those things are deal breakers for me. For me, a guy would only be right for me if we had the same (or similar) goals in life. However, if being married or being a mother isn't all that important to you, then maybe it's something to consider.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFetus Ticker
  • mrosenbmrosenb member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011